Evaluating the ups and downs of the elevator pitch

I think it may have even been beneficial to have us practice our pitches in an elevator, since it could highlight the base of the exercise. An elevator would serve as not only a potentially real environment, but also a place where someone could feel more comfortable talking freely.

I think it may have even been beneficial to have us practice our pitches in an elevator, since it could highlight the base of the exercise. An elevator would serve as not only a potentially real environment, but also a place where someone could feel more comfortable talking freely.

Before preparing for this elevator pitch, I didn’t really know what an elevator pitch entailed. In learning about them, I really grew to like the idea of making a pitch only as long as an elevator ride. When I was preparing mine, I tried to think about this as much as I could.

I learned that this task was difficult. It was hard to squeeze everything I wanted to talk about about Hitchcock Blogs into the one minute period given. But, I just kept reminding myself that an elevator ride worked for a length of time. As much as the limitations put on the amount of time we could use for the pitch were hard to work through while writing it, I think it provides a great base point. It also prevents you from putting in unnecessary information for just talking about the idea for the first time to someone. They don’t need to know all of the ins and outs; they just need to know the basics. I think that this is where our class as a whole did very well. People kept their pitches short and straight to the point. Everyone really focused the idea in quickly, and didn’t over pitch. I think this was something that I took away because I think our group could have done this better. Making our pitch more clear and concise would help us to establish our product better to a person who could be interested.

Besides tightening up our pitch, I think our group could have benefited from finding a way to sell our idea as more of a product instead of just an idea. I think that all of us focused on what it is more than what it could potentially become or what we want it to become. I think that this could hurt us if we really were to pitch the way that we did, since our minute may not be used as effectively as it could be.

Our next steps, I think, include focusing on our overall goal and on monetary gain. Our goals are not very clear, and a person who could be potentially interested in Hitchcock Blogs wouldn’t, I don’t think, feel comfortable pouring money or support into it because there is not indication or plan for where we are headed. Also, creating goals can keep our idea going, whereas not having goals could make it easy for people to unintentionally not make it their priority. Making money, though not completely needed to keep what we have going working, is necessary if we want to expand or move forward in any sense. Also, having some sort of income in place or plan for a potential income would be appealing for someone interested in being involved in our organization, whether that be through monetary support or just backing our product.

Though I think that our initial pitch gave more life and established a better focus to what we are trying to do, I think we need to focus on our goals and what we think will come of this if we want to turn it into a true entrepreneurial project.

Leave a comment